Chakra Cheatsheet

Posted by Nisey on May 28, 2015 in Blog |No Comments

Sat Nam Yoginis,

My how time flies! Since I last updated this blog I have completed the final module of my Kundalini Teacher Training and I am now officially a Kundalini teacher. It is a really wonderful and exciting journey to be on and a an entire post on its own in the making.

Last weekend we hosted a yoga retreat at the beautiful Killarney Farmhouse in the Lowveld. It was such a special weekend surrounded by lovely souls and a reminder of how privileged I am to be able to share my yoga. More on the retreat in a separate post!

Today saw the culmination of a 2 month long exploration of the chakras. What a journey it has been. Each week we have focussed on one of the chakras and worked through kriyas, meditations and the knowledge held in each chakra.

It is a vast subject and can be quite overwhelming if you are new to these whirling vortexes within yourself. With that in mind I have prepared a little cheat sheet to serve as a reminder for you. The information is gained from various sources, notably my Sivananda and Kundalini training manuals, The Kundalini Yoga Experience by Guru Dharam Khalsa, google and information gleaned from various souls over the years added to my own personal experiences.

Muladhara – Base Chakra

Element – Earth

This chakra is represented by the colour red. It represents our basic needs of safety, food and shelter being met.

When this chakra is balanced we are grounded, value ourselves and living in the present. If it is unbalanced it can result in addictive behaviours, lack of self worth and placing ones own needs above those of others.

It can manifest physically as constipation, sciatica, lower back pain and obesity.

Svadhistanana – Sacral Chakra

Element – Water

This chakra is represented by the colour orange. It represents our emotions, creativity and sexuality.

When this chakra is balanced we have a passion for life, the ability to empathise with others. We experience genuine intimacy and enter into mutually empowering relationships. When it is out of balance we feel inadequate, engage in destructive relationships and feels shame in our bodies and sexuality.

An unbalanced sacral chakra can manifest physically as frigidity, impotence or lower back pain as well as urinary issues.

Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra

Element –  Fire

This chakra is represented by the colour yellow. It is the seat of our personal power, we empower ourselves from the solar plexus.

When Manipura is balanced we feel in control of our lives, we have strong leadership skills, we are aware of the effect of our actions on others and our will power is strong. When it is unbalanced we become greedy, need external validation and are more concerned with our rights than our responsibilities.

If this chakra is unbalanced it can manifest physically as diabetes, hepatitis, indigestion and ulcers.

Anahata – Heart Chakra

Element – Air

Anahata is represented by the colour green. It represents love and relationships. How we give and receive love in the world and what types of relationships we attract into our lives.

When the fourth chakra is balanced we accept that all is as it should be. We can freely give and receive love, our relationships with the world are harmonious and we have unconditional love for all. When this chakra is unbalanced we feel alienated, lonely, we grieve and we become passive aggressive.

This chakra can manifest physically as asthma and circulatory complaints.

Vishuddha – Throat Chakra

Element – Ether

The throat chakra is represented by the colour blue. It represents communication, both with ourselves and with the world. It allows us to stand in our truth, to authentically be who we truly are.

When Vishuddha is balanced we are able to speak our truth, people will hear us. We can hear what others are saying and we are able to communicate with inspiration. An unbalanced Vishuddha chakra will result in untruthfulness, cunning, shyness or speaking our minds without consideration for the damage it might do.

This chakra can manifest physically as ear, nose and throat problems.

Ajna – Third Eye Chakra

Ajna represents our ability to see beyond what is directly in front of us. It represents our intuition, our inner voice.

When the third eye is in balance we have clear perception of what is going on around us, we trust our intuition and we may develop psychic abilities. When unbalanced we lose touch with who we are and feel completely separate from our bodies. We also struggle to concentrate on one thing at a time.

This chakra can manifest in the body as eye problems, headaches, nightmares or visions.

Sahasrara – Crown Chakra

The Crown represents our connection with spirit. Our connection with infinity. It is when we move from intellectualism to knowing.

When this chakra is balanced we are in a blissful state of awakening, not quite of this world. We experience our role in the world as interconnected. We are one. When it is out of balance it can result in religious extremism, doubt and denial of the spiritual reality.

It can manifest physically as apathy, alienation and experiencing symptoms of illness without any physical explanation.

And there you have it. A very, very brief outline of the chakras and their qualities, there is so much information available that if something resonates with you I would suggest that you research further and find out as much as you can about it.

Wishing you beautifully balanced chakras

Sat Nam xxx


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: